Have a post up over at Progress with this title kinda pondering whether the Tories can pull it off in bagging the Asian vote. I think not as people like my parents seem to have long memories about Enoch Powell and all that but then there is a new breed of Tory candidate who don’t have the same hang-ups and like all the private sector personal responsibility messages who are being welcomed with open arms.No section of the electorate should be taken for granted by any party and it’ll be interesting to monitor this one. Of course most people classify themselves as manythings not just their continent of origin so treating “Asians” as a bloc vote becomes less and less relevant with successive generations if indeed it ever was valid.

Was tempted to call this post “currying favour” then realised I’d already used the title earlier – this *is* my 373rd post though in my defence.

