None other than Gordon Brown has weighed into the debate about the fact that the Apprentice’s eventual winner Lee fibbed about his career at TVU (Thames Valley University) stretching his academic career in catering there from 4 months to 2 years as reported here on a site that sounds like a hilarious title from Have I got News For You’s”Missing Words” round. Brown said “I think people should tell the truth”: well you can’t say fairer than that can you? 

CV enhancement is pretty commonplace but people here at Digital Spy muse that the victorious Lee should have fibbed that he went somewhere “better”. Every profession has a pecking order. I dunno if TVU is such a bad place though. It happens to be my local university (walking distance) and when I was a postgrad I had a McJob in the library there stamping books rather than flipping burgers. Alumnae from its former incarnatoin as Ealing Art College include Emma from 90s indie shoegazers Lush, Who axeman Pete Townsend and even Freddie Mercury. It even has apparently even had an ex-student Apprentice winner before: Tim Campbell back in 2005.

What is the moral of the story? Tactics are everything? Every loser wins? Seems strange that I began writing this in draft yesterday and now the story of attention-seeking potentially ultra-loser David Davis has taken over. For my two-penny worth I don’t think Labour should play his games and stand. This toys-out-the-pram hissyfit disguised as martyrdom does nobody any favours and now that Kelvin McKenzie is threatening to stand it could seriously backfire – cancelling out the Tories Crewe and Nantwich by-election gain.

